Chick Lit

Standard

What a term!  For years I have been reading mystery type novels, Alex Cross series by James Patterson, Clive Cussler, etc.  From a friend I picked up the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, which I loved. Add another few reads I picked up here and there, I was really opened to a new type of book, where the female is not the victim. Then asking for more titles from other Moms, I got the term “Chick Lit.”

According to the ‘reliable’ site, Wikipedia, Chick Lit ‘The term was introduced by Cris Mazza and Jeffrey DeShell as an ironic title for their edited anthology Chick Lit: Postfeminist Fiction, published in 1995. The genre was defined as a type of post-feminist or second-wave feminism that went beyond female-as-victim to include fiction that covered the breadth of female experiences, including love, courtship and gender.’

According to about.com, here are the top FIVE chick lit authors:

1. Jane Green

Green has handfuls of popular titles to choose from. Check out Second Chance, Swapping Lives, The Other Woman, Babyville: A Novel or Spellbound.

2. Marian Keyes

This Irish bestselling author has delighted readers with books such as Anybody Out There, Watermelon, Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married and Rachel’s Holiday.

3. Sophie Kinsella

Kinsella hit a nerve with women who can’t resist a sale with Confessions of a Shopaholic and the many Shopaholic sequels. She also pleased readers with the bestselling The Undomestic Goddess.

4. Jennifer Weiner

Weiner’s women work through self-esteem issues and tough relationships in books such as Good in Bed (and its sequel — Certain Girls), The Guy Not Taken, In Her Shoes and Goodnight Nobody.

5. Helen Fielding

Start with Bridget Jones’ Diary and see if you don’t fall in love with Fielding’s quirky characters. Other titles to consider include Cause Celeb and Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination.

Here’s another site with a great list of Chick Lit authors, titles, and updates  http://www.chicklitclub.com

Here is a  good review of Chick Lit from Rian.

I can’t wait to read more Chick Lit books.  Just from the few books I have read, I have truly enjoyed them!

One response »

  1. I am a huge fan of chick lit, I really do love it. I view chick lit as contemporary fiction which covers a lot of issues which we or our friends or someone has dealt with, or issues we can relate to.

    I also love chick it because they are mainly about love, friendship and relationships. I like reading about things/issues/situations/problems that pan out in these books. There are all different forms of chick lit as well. I love intelligent chick lit and real chick lit like Save Karyn.

    I wrote a blog post about this for work and trust me although I tend to read everything I can get my hands on from newspapers, blogs, autobiographies – so it’s not for a dumbed down female or light reading – as seems to be the negative stereotype – I have learnt so much from these books.

    http://thestorysofar.typepad.com/valeries_blog/2008/07/chick-lit.html

Leave a Reply

